Being a Creative Writing Major with Studio Art as a minor helps me try to come up with things others originally wouldn’t. I try to come up with things that could be looked at from a different view. It gives me more of an open mind about incorporating art to my stories. I have a bad habit of trying to paint pictures by giving way too much details within my writing and I have been told to cut straight to the point many times. In art, I have this obsession with everything being perfect and in art things don’t have to be perfect. As an artist, I see this as a method of presentation to help the viewer follow the story I might want to show. It really puts the whole show don’t tell method to great use literally. In art, we are presented an image and have to come up with the story ourselves, and in writings we are given the story and have to picture it. I want to try and mix both art and writing together to find the balance of each.

There are different types of writing that I have worked with such as fiction, non-fiction, creative non-fiction, and poetry.  I think my own poetry is about how I feel at the moment. I never really write poetry, but when I do it’s normally about a certain feeling I want to convey within imagery. I think poetry conveys more of the dark side of literature to express those feelings of emptiness in a short and quick way unlike short stories. Poetry doesn’t necessarily need structure, but stories need a beginning middle and end to convey the message. In creative writing, I feel as though my works turn dark even if I want to have something merry happen. I prefer to write short stories because they do need more time to develop, but poetry is something I feel in the moment. I’m not sure how my short stories turn out dark, but as they progress all my ideas come together in a more twisted way than they were meant to. It’s a process that has to come together over time. Poetry does take time and needs editing and can have everything that a short story does, but when I write it’s more of a spur of the moment thing. I just think it’s neat how writings can take over and become what they want. Everything just has a way of flowing together. Poetry is my way to express quick thoughts and emotions, but short stories and even trying to come up with novel ideas are where most of the time and patience comes in making it more challenging.

Writing for me is a great way to put into words what I see in the moment. I tend to have an over active imagination that comes to life in the weirdest ways. Art to me is something that takes time to prepare an image and execute it the way I want it. Writing is a quick release that comes naturally. In high school, I was always the artist trying to doodle and draw simple things in class, but after a while I knew doodling wasn’t something that I could take. It was imperfect and I was never able to draw it the  way I pictured it in my head. Over time, I realized I was able to create the perfect image through words. Now I will be the first to say, I’m not a prefect writer and my grammar is constantly being improved, but that doesn’t mean I won’t work hard to make sure my writing is the best it can be. Every time I write, I go through at least three times to make sure everything is correct, but even then I know there are mistakes and things that could be better. However, my art is different. I work hard on every piece for at least two weeks. It takes a while to make everything as it should be and even then I fix it piece by piece if I see a mistake. Fixing my art is easy because it’s just what I see and how I feel about it. Writing takes a lot more effort, but personally that’s what makes it fun.

One thought on “Connecting Art and Writing

Leave a Reply

